You can set a password on your Posterous Space so only the readers you want can see it.
How does someone see my Space?
- To see your Space, a user must go to your Space url and also enter the correct password for your Space.
- If a user checks the "Remember me" box, their computer will have access to your Space for 1 year.
- If a user does not check the "Remember me" box, their computer will lose access when the browser is closed.
- A user can log out of your Space by clicking the "Log out of Space" link.
- All contributors to your Space can view the Space with no password.
How do subscriptions work?
- Only a user with your Space password can subscribe to your Space.
- Subscriptions work like any other: the Space will appear in the user's email notifications and Posterous Reader.
- Private Spaces will not appear on pages listing a user's subscribed Spaces.
- Only Space contributors can view who is subscribed to a private Space.
How does RSS work?
- The normal RSS feed for a Space (sitename.posterous.com/rss.xml) will not work.
- A secret RSS feed is generated (sitename.posterous.com/private/longsecrettext/rss.xml). This link can be found on the private Space itself (if a user has access to that Space).
- Posts from private Spaces will not show up in a user's Posterous Reader RSS feed.
- Posts on private Spaces will not show up in Facebook in any way.
- Posts on private Spaces will not autopost anywhere.
- Posts on private Spaces will not show up in search or explore.
- Changing the password to your Space will reset access for all users who have been to your Space. It will also change your secret RSS feed.
- Clicking the "Reset Space access" button on the edit Space page will reset access for users, reset the RSS feed, and also remove all subscribers to your Space.